Skip to main content
ENG   |   TextSize
Link to Facebook Link to Youtube
 
Message from Chief Commissioner

Message from Chief Commissioner

Home Scouting Message from Chief Commissioner

Joseph LAU

In the blink of an eye, it is November and it has been a year since I took up the position as Chief Commissioner. In 2020, the COVID-19 has brought upon unprecedented changes on our everyday life, work, as well as our learning habits. Our face-to-face Scout activities had also been suspended at different phases. We did have doubts at the very beginning to cope with the constantly changing situation. Upon the strong belief that “A Scout has courage in all difficulties”, we manage to make use of the advanced technology to overcome challenges and create new thoughts to continue our Scout activities.

To create a memorable anniversary, I have put together a summary of my work in the past year: 

  • The works of the 5 task forces specifically set up for the “Triennial Plan 2020-2023” is well underway. A preliminary report is expected to be released in the second half of 2021.
  • Special arrangements have been implemented during the pandemic. These included extending the assessment periods of youth awards, conducting the Progressive Award Online Assessment Scheme, online trainings and activities and launching of the “Hong Kong Scout - Health Guard” Programme. In response to the invitation from Home Affairs Bureau, some of our Adult Members had volunteered to serve in Tso Kung Tam quarantine centre.
  • Actively promote WOSM’s online activities, including World Scout Academy, Youth Dialogues, JOTA-JOTI Special Edition and many others. The aim is to encourage our scout members to continue making friends with overseas scouts.
  • Meeting up with Venture Scouts and Rover Scouts to listen to their ideas and understand their needs.
  • Invited Scout groups which had participated in World War II to attend and lay wreath at Remembrance Day, thanking the contributions of their old members.
  • Invited professionals to participate in different committees to share their expertise and offer assistance on scout matters
  • Actively promote partnership programmes. A Memorandum of Understanding is set to be signed with World Wild Fund for Nature Hong Kong to promote environmental education. Hong Kong Sheng Kung Hui has also shown their continual support to establish Scout groups.
  • Organized Chief Commissioner Retreat Pre-meeting and District Commissioner Seminar in April and June respectively, in order to strengthen internal communication.
  • Encourage Scout districts to visit their Scout groups at least once a year to understand their needs and offer assistance.
  • Attended local and overseas scout activities, including Scout groups anniversaries, District activities, Regional jamborees, the World Non-Formal Education Forum and the site visit of 25th World Scout Jamboree, to show support for their activities.
  • Launched the Hong Kong Scout 110th Anniversary Kick-off Ceremony on 30 October 2020, kicking off the start of a series of celebration activities in the year ahead
  • On the financial aspect, apart from strictly controlling our expenditure, we also make good use of external resources (including The Hong Kong Jockey Club Charities Trust and Youth Development Commission Funding Schemes) to help promoting Scout projects and services

I feel very thankful for the work that have been done as we have been making progress in various aspects despite the pandemic.  The most significant is our brother and sister Scouts have well-equipped themselves to overcome challenges which may arise from the prolonged pandemic or other unpredictable circumstances. With the joint efforts of all our members, Scouting will certainly continue to flourish and move forward to the “2020-2023 Triennial Plan”.

The world has been experiencing different disasters and conflicts since ancient times, COVID-19 is only one of them, and the mission of Scouting is to make a better world.  I hope each of our Scout members will always keep the Scout Promise and Law in mind, to help those people in need, to value diversity and inclusion, as well as to “self-respect and respect others”.  When you have time, please spare a minute to listen to “The Scout Hymn” and try to understand the meaning behind the song lyrics which encourages us to keep the Scout Law and influence others to do a good turn everyday to jointly create a harmonious world.

Joseph LAU
Chief Commissioner

We use cookies to give you a better browsing experience, by continuing to browse this site, you agree to our use of Cookies. More Info

跳至主要內容
ENG   |   TextSize
連結至Facebook 連結至Youtube
 
香港總監的話

香港總監的話

主頁 童軍運動 香港總監的話

劉彥樑

轉眼已是11月,我履任了香港總監也有一年的時間。2020年,全球受到COVID-19的影響,生活、工作以致學習模式都經歷了前所未見的轉變,香港童軍運動亦受到不同程度的影響,甚至在不同時段需要暫停面對面的童軍活動,起初難免感到無奈,甚至有點束手無策,但憑著「童軍勇敢不怕難」的信念,童軍活動在疫情嚴峻的環境下創出新思維,善用資訊科技進行活動與訓練,讓童軍運動能夠繼續前進。

藉著履任一周年的時機,我將過去一年的工作整合了一個總結,希望跟大家分享:

  • 為推行「2020-2023三年計劃」而設的5個專責小組已積極展開工作,預期2021年下旬提交初期報告。
  • 疫情下實施了多項特別安排,包括:延長青少年成員考取獎章期限及推出進度性獎章特別考驗計劃、以網上形式進行訓練班及活動、推出【香港童軍 — 童心抗疫】計劃、應民政事務局邀請派出成年成員到曹公潭檢疫中心協助防疫工作等。
  • 積極推廣世界童軍組織舉辦的線上活動,如World Scout Academy、Youth Dialogues、JOTA-JOTI Special Edition等,鼓勵成員於疫情下繼續廣交海外童軍朋友,進行交流。
  • 與深資童軍及樂行童軍成員會面,聆聽他們的聲音,了解他們的需要。
  • 邀請曾參與第二次世界大戰的旅團出席和平紀念日及獻花,感謝他們的貢獻。
  • 邀請專業人士加入不同的委員會,為童軍事務提供意見及協助。
  • 積極推動合作伙伴計劃,世界自然基金會將與本會簽署一份共同推動環保教育的合作備忘,聖公會亦表示會繼續支持開辦童軍旅。
  • 分別於4月及6月舉辦了「香港總監集思會準備會議」及「區總監座談會」,加強內部溝通。
  • 鼓勵區會每年必須探訪其區內旅團不少於一次,了解旅團需要及提供協助。
  • 出席本地及海外童軍活動,包括旅團慶典、區會活動、地域大露營、世界非正規教育論壇及韓國第25屆世界童軍大露營營地視察等,以表支持。
  • 於10月30日舉行了慶祝香港童軍110周年活動開展禮,為一系列的慶祝活動揭開序幕。
  • 財務方面,嚴控開支之餘,善用外界資源(包括香港賽馬會慈善信託基金及青年發展委員會資助計劃),以推行童軍項目及服務。

好感恩第一年的工作計劃縱使受到疫情影響,於各方面也有一定的進展,更重要的是經歷了多月以來不穩定的情況,我們一班童軍兄弟姊妹已作好準備及部署,即使疫情持續或出現其他特殊情況,童軍的訓練活動也有方法得以繼續,並朝著「2020-2023三年計劃」進發。

自古以來,全球各地都經歷過不少災難或衝突,COVID-19只是其一,而童軍運動的使命就是令社會變得更美好。我希望每位童軍成員都要堅守童軍誓詞及規律,幫助有需要的人,實踐多元共融的精神,做到自重又重人。有時間的話,大家不妨聽聽"The Scout Hymn",細味曲中歌詞,勉勵自己要緊記童軍規律,並感染身邊的人一起行善,合力共建和諧的社會。

香港總監
劉彥樑

我們使用Cookies為您提供更好的瀏覽體驗,如果您繼續使用本網站,則表示您同意我們使用Cookies。了解更多